The Colony of British Columbia is established on August 2, 1858

This colony is the territory referred to today as “The Mainland” It was named by Queen Victoria, is separate from the Colony of Vancouver Island. It is said that Douglas agreed to sever his ties to the Hudson’s Bay Company when he became Governor of both the Colony of Vancouver Island and the Colony of British Columbia. New Westminster is named as the Capital.