November 19, 1866: The Colonies of British Columbia and Vancouver Island are united as the new Colony of British Columbia

An Act for the Union of the colonies was passed by the Imperial Parliament in August 1866 to become effective at noon on November 19, 1866. On that date, the union was proclaimed simultaneously in the two capitals, New Westminster and Victoria.