July 20, 1871: British Columbia becomes the sixth province to join Confederation

By 1871, the federal government of Canada finally promised to build a railway to British Columbia. However the railway was not completed until 1885! By a United Kingdom Order in Council, British Columbia became the sixth province on July 20,1871. Sir Joseph Trutch was appointed the first Lieutenant Governor, and the Legislative Assembly elected John Foster McCreight as the first Premier. Trutch was known for his anti-Indigenous policies. In 2022 both Victoria and Vancouver renamed Trutch St. in consultation with the area Indigenous nations.

Map of Canada in 1871
Image courtesy of “Canada’s Government Throughout the Years”